P.O. Box No. 47666 Doha-Qatar


The MES Indian School, Abu Hamour Branch (MESIS) conducted the second Phase of School Parliament Elections for the post of Head Boy and Head Girl for the academic year 2022- 2023. The elections were announced on May 26, 2022.

The Head Boy and Head Girl posts were exclusively reserved for students of Grade XI.

Nomination forms for the candidates were sent via email requests and had to be submitted on June 01, 2022. There were seven nominations from Grade XI.

The final list of contesting candidates was published on June 2, 2022. The Chief Election Commissioner was Principal Dr. Mohammed Haneef allotted the election symbols to the contesting candidates.

All contesting candidates met their voters in ‘Meet the Candidate Programme’ at School Multi-purpose hall and introduced themselves and declared their manifesto on June 06, 2022.

The candidates exhibited their election posters on the allotted boards. On June 7, 2022 a quiet election campaign was done by the candidates.

The Returning officers gave clear instructions to voters on the method of voting. The voting was held on June 8, 2022. Polling started at 9.30 am in the morning and the last candidate caste vote at 11 a.m.

Counting of votes was done in the multi-purpose hall on June 9, 2022 at 9.00 a.m. MESIS recorded 92.44 % polling in the student parliament election.

Principal, Dr. Haneef announced the official results. The elected parliament members of MESIS are Master Akshith Saravanan as Head Boy and Miss Husna Saeed as Head Girl.

The school parliament election provided an opportunity for all students to involve in school governance and decision making through a group of democratically elected student candidates who represent the views of all students at the school, gave knowledge regarding the function of democracy and understanding the process of the parliamentary system of the government.

All students from Grades V to XI were eligible to cast their votes while class monitors of Grade I to IV got the chance to cast votes on behalf of their class- these votes were considered as postal votes. The school had decided to follow ballot paper system of voting and indelible ink marking system was issued after casting the votes.

The students of XI grades were assigned as election officers. The department of Social science coordinated the student parliament election. The Returning officers were Mr. Nameer and Mrs. Riya Antony.